What qualifies a patient for a Medical Marijuana Registry Card?
A patient must meet the following requirements to submit an application:
- Be a resident of the state of Rhode Island
- Have a qualifying, debilitating medical condition
- Obtain written certification from a licensed physician
- A legal guardian must apply for a patient under the age of 18
I qualify for the Medical Marijuana Registry Program. How do I apply?
First, obtain a medical marijuana recommendation from your doctor. Not all doctors are willing to recommend medical marijuana treatments. Cancer, glaucoma, and HIV/AIDS are just three of the qualifying medical conditions. The physician is required to complete the Practitioner Form to be submitted with the patient application.
Make sure to include all of the following documents:
- Original, signed Patient Application
- Original, signed Practitioner Form
- A legible copy of the patient’s Rhode Island issued driver’s license or identification card
- $100 non-refundable application fee in the form of check or money order payable to RI General Treasurer (this fee may be reduced if patient qualifies for government assistance)
- Add Compassion Center as Caregiver Form (optional)
- Minor Form (completed by the legal guardian if patient is under 18 years old)
Once the application is complete, mail all documents, in one envelope to:
Office of Health Professionals Regulation
Medical Marijuana Program
Room 104 – 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
All items must be submitted in one envelope. It is important to send the packet “certified mail,” so that you have confirmation your application was received. This will act as proof that the application was mailed. It is important to keep copies of all submitted documents for your records.
Allow four to six weeks to process the application from the date it is received into the Medical Marijuana Program office. If your application is incomplete, it will be returned, and the processing time will start over when it is re-submitted. Once the application is approved, the patient will receive an approval letter in the mail at home. The approval letter will contain information for the patient to schedule a time to have a photo taken for the registration card.
Once approved, each cardholder is permitted to have two and one half ounces of usable cannabis material, or six mature plants. Patients that have been convicted of a class A or B felony drug conviction are only permitted to have up to one ounce at a time.