In historic fashion Alaska has joined Colorado and Washington as the only states in America where the recreational use of marijuana is legal. Ballot Measure 2 becomes law today, leaving many Alaskans curious about what changes the new law will have on their state.
An Op-Ed featured in Alaska Dispatch News, authored by pro-cannabis industry leaders Dr. Tim Hinterberger and Bruce Schulte, voiced the importance of consuming responsibility and respecting those who do not consume at all.
Starting Tuesday, it is lawful for someone 21 years of age or older to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana. For those who choose to cultivate their own cannabis — the limit is up to six marijuana plants per home, although only three can be mature.
Additionally, any Alaskan may gift (without payment) up to 1 ounce of marijuana and 6 immature marijuana plants to another person 21 years of age or older. Private consumption of marijuana is completely legal for adults.
Even with Measure 2 going into effect today, marijuana dispensaries will not be around for another year or so. However the clock is ticking, state officials have 9 months to put commercial cultivation, manufacturing, and retail frameworks into place.
It’s worth noting that Measure 2 passed with overwhelming support, getting more votes than the sitting governor.