Select Page

As July 1, 2015, edges closer to the history books, citizens in the state of Oregon are preparing for the legalization of recreational marijuana under the enactment of Measure 91.

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) has put together a $350,000 campaign to increase public awareness about the rules and regulations concerning the use of recreational cannabis.

What’s Legal?

oregon

Starting July 1, anyone 21 years old or older is permitted to have and use marijuana. However, until recreational shops open in 2016, residents cannot purchase it unless they have a medical permit to do so. There are stipulations in place that detail exactly what is acceptable in the eyes of the law in Oregon.

These stipulations include:

• Citizens can have on their person up to 8 ounces of cannabis (usable form) in the home and up to 1 ounce outside of the home.
• Marijuana can be consumed at home or on private property.
• Residents can grow up to four cannabis plants in their home, as long as the plants remain hidden from public view.
• Marijuana can be used to make edible products at home.
• Citizens can give and receive marijuana as gifts.

What’s Not Legal?

oregon legal

Law enforcement officials in Oregon are still able to arrest and prosecute anyone who attempts to sell or distribute marijuana without a license, but they intend to focus on large amounts of cannabis.

Stipulations citizens need to be aware of regarding the illegal use of marijuana include:

•Anyone caught transporting marijuana across state lines or attempting to purchase, sell or distribute marijuana across state lines can be arrested and prosecuted.
•It is illegal to drive while smoking cannabis or while under the influence of marijuana.
•Marijuana cannot be smoked in a residence if it violates the non-smoking provision of a lease, and offenders are subject to eviction.
•Users whose employers prohibit the use of marijuana are not protected by Measure 91.
•Marijuana cannot be bought or sold until licensed shops have opened in the state.

Although there is no set date for when recreational sales outlets will open to the public, the OLCC expects the system may be up and running by late 2016. In the meantime, the state legislature may allow medical marijuana dispensaries to start selling recreational products as early as October of 2015.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet_bg']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']
[data-image-id='gourmet']